Center for Biophysics and Quantitative Biology

Biophysics News

default news image

Biophysics Graduate Student Awarded a Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE CSGF)

Anda Trifan has been awarded a Department of Energy Computational Science Graduate Fellowship (DOE CSGF). Created in the early 1990’s, the program was developed to meet the nation’s growing need for science and technology professionals with advanced computer skills. Congratulations, Anda!
default news image

BiOP Graduate Student Receives National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship (NSF GRF)

Kevin Cheng has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship (NSF GRF). The purpose of the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is to help ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) or in STEM education. The GRFP provides three years of support for the graduate education of individuals who have demonstrated their potential for significant research achievements in STEM or STEM education. Congratulations, Kevin!
default news image

Emeritus Professor Leads Research in AI

Molecular and Integrative Physiology Emeritus Professor Rhanor Gillette developed an artificially intelligent (AI) ocean predator. The “Cyberslug” reacts to food and responds to the real-life predator in the same way that the real predator reacts. The animal the cyberslug was based on is the slug Pleurobanchaea californica. READ MORE
default news image

BiOP Graduate Student Recognized

Kevin Cheng has been selected for campus-wide recognition by the Graduate College Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI).  Kevin will be presented a certificate of achievement at the upcoming DEI'S Celebrating Diversity, Recognizing Excellence ceremony and reception.  Recipients are nominated by their units based on academic, teaching or service achievements. 
default news image

BIOP Prof named University Scholar

Biophysics Professor Saurabh Sinha has been named University Scholar for 2018.  He is one of six on the Urbana campus who are being recognized for their "excellence in teaching, scholarship and service".  Congratulations, Saurabh!
default news image

Paul Lauterbur to be inducted into Engineering & Science Hall of Fame

Paul C. Lauterbur, an Illinois professor of chemistry who was awarded a Nobel Prize in 2003 for his pioneering work in the development of magnetic resonance imaging, has been chosen to be inducted (posthumously) into the Engineering and Science Hall of Fame.
Eric Johnson-Chavarria

Five Questions: Eric Johnson-Chavarria

Biophysics alum, Eric Johnson-Chavarria ('14) has just been appointed as a NIH-AAAS Science and Techology Policy Fellow for 2017. He took some time to answer a few questions for us.