Section 1


Cool neuro fluorescent Govindjee arieh warshel tony crofts klaus schulten 4 21 2015 Ibs symposium committee 4 23 14 Tajkhorshid cover.surface Synuclein fibril Fig1 mcb edited blk bkgd
Section 2


Sp17 BIOP/CPLC Symposium May 2

The bi-annual Center for Biophysics and Quantitative Biology/Center for the Physics of Living Cells Graduate/Postdoc Symposium for Spring 2017 will be held on Tuesday, May 2, from 9:00am to 12:30pm, in 204 Loomis. The Symposium will feature talks from Biophysics and CPLC graduate students and postdocs. Breakfast, coffee break, and lunch will be provided to individuals attending the symposium in its entirety.

"Hands-on" Workshop on Computational Biophysics

This workshop, which runs from April 17-21, 2017, at the Beckman Institute, will be presented by members of the NIH Center for Macromolecular Modeling & Bioinformatics at Urbana-Champaign. Topics will cover instruction in state-of-the-art molecular dynamics simulation and free energy techniques using NAMD, bacterial cells simulation with Lattice Microbes (LM) and biomolecular visualization and analysis with VMD. Morning lecture presentations will introduce fundamental theory and concepts, while afternoon hands-on computer laboratory sessions will allow participants to apply NAMD, LM and VMD directly in a series of guided tutorials. The workshop is designed for all students and researchers in computational and/or biophysical fields who seek to extend their expertise to include biomolecular simulations. Experimentalists and non-specialists are encouraged to attend and will benefit particularly from instruction in the use of QwikMD, a new teaching software incorporating NAMD and VMD that significantly lowers the learning curve for novice users. Enrollment limited to 25 participants. Application deadline: March 10, 2017 Announcement and Applications: http://www.ks.uiuc.edu/Training/Workshop/Urbana2017a/

Jin receives LEAP Award

BIOP Professor Hong Jin has been named a Lincoln Excellence for Assistant Professor Scholar for her outstanding research and teaching.

Jin lab publication in Nature

This is the first atomic structure of the ribosome solved by cryoEM on the U of I campus. “It’s breathtaking to see how each and every atom in this beautiful molecular machine arranged in three-dimension” said Dr. Jin. Using the 3D atomic structure and biochemistry, Jin and team were able to decipher how a protein known as ArfA recognizes a stalled bacterial ribosome and recruits release factor RF2 to catalyze peptide release, a process that leads to rescuing the stalled ribosome in the bacterial cell. Since bacterial and human cells employ completely different strategies to rescue stalled ribosomes, the rescue mechanism of bacteria is a drug target. “This is also a collegial collaborative effort, our colleagues in the Beckman Institute, the research team led by Prof. Emad Tajkhorshid, provided us with powerful computational resources,” said Dr. Jin. Read the full article here: http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/nature21053.html

Pac-1 Shows Promise in Treating Cancer in Dogs

Biophysics Professor Paul Hergenrother's discovery from 10 years ago is showing success in treating cancer in dogs today. Human trials to begin soon. http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2017/01/24/cancer-dog-drugs/

Section 3


Section 4