Section 1


Temperature jump kinetics with fluorescence microscopy Biophysics Society Govindjee
Section 2


Biophysics Recruiting Reception

The 2016 Biophysics Recruiting Reception will be held on Friday, March 11th, from 5:30-8:00pm, at Guido's in downtown Champaign. All Biophysics faculty and students are cordially invited to attend.

BIOP Prof among "world's most influential researchers"

Biophysics Professor Yi Lu has been named one of "the world's most influential scientific minds" on the Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher list for 2015. Congratulations, Yi!

BIOP Welcomes Two New Faculty Members

Please join us in welcoming our two newest faculty members: Assistant Professor Aditi Das from the Department of Comparative Biosciences, and Seppe Kuehn, Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics.

BIOP Prof named University Scholar

Biophysics Professor, Emad Tajkhorshid, has been named one of the 2015 University Scholars. The award is given to recognize excellence in teaching, research and service. Congratulations, Emad!

U of I ranks in Top 25 worldwide!

For 2015, the Academic Ranking of World Universities ranks the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 4th in the world for engineering/technology, and 21st in life sciences and agriculture! Reuter's list of the 100 Top Innovative Universities ranks the University of Illinois system (Urbana-Champaign, Chicago, Springfield) as 21st in the world! Quite impressive.

Article on former director

In the July 2015 issue of Photosynthesis Research, you can find a wonderful article on former director Colin Wraight, co-written by BIOP alumni and Emeritus Professor Govindjee. There are a lot of great photos and heart-felt remembrances from family and friends alike. http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11120-015-0174-1

2015 Cindy's Guide is now available!

We are pleased to announce that the 2015 edition of Cindy's Guide to Living (cheaply) in Champaign-Urbana is now available! Feel free to download the pdf (also located under Resources).

What's in a Name?

The University of Illinois Board of Trustees recently approved a name change for the Center. Henceforth, we shall be known as the Center for Biophysics and Quantitative Biology. The new name will allow us to broaden our scope beyond the fields of biophysics and computational biology to include computational genomics, systems biology, quantitative proteomics, and synthetic biology - areas not traditionally associated with biophysics and computational biology.

News RSS feed | All News
Section 3


Calendar RSS feed| Full calendar
Section 4